THAT GUY

You know that guy they talk about in all those articles, Instagram posts and Tumblr posts? Yeah, that perfect guy who does a list of things that he’s meant to do according to everyone out there. The one that every girl can only dream about as if it’s a fairytale that you know will never come true but yet it doesn’t stop you from hoping. You are that guy. And no, you’re not just what these posts describe, you are so much more than that. You are that guy that every girl dreams of call hers and sometimes I have to convince myself that this is real, you are real and we are real. I didn’t know that this love really exists. No movie, no book, no writing has even come close to describing this love. They all describe it as admiration for the other person, infatuation, the inability to stay away from each other, sex, break ups and makeups. They don’t talk about how it’s so much more than all of this. It’s about two people understanding each other, being there for each other, being apart but still surviving, being their own person while supporting each other and growing together. 

I can joke in the middle of a serious conversation without having you get annoyed. I can pause a fight because there is something more important that I need you for and you’ll understand. I can push away my issues to be there for you. I will fight against whatever comes in the way of us and I know that you’ll be there standing next to me.

You are so much more than just the guy that I love. You are my inspiration, safe haven and strength. You know me better than I know myself. You’ve broken down all my walls and gotten to know the real me, you pick me up when I fall and you love me when I need it the most. I can’t even begin to explain how grateful I am for having you in my life and for all that you do. There’s a sense of security that erases all doubt and makes me sure of you and us and this is the first time that I have been sure of anything in my life. I love you.

Leave a Reply

